One rainy day

img_20170218_2040361
Feeding Frenzy, by Nicola Henley

It had been a rainy day and I was at a loose end.  I wanted to go out and about, but what to do?  And then I remembered a road sign I had seen giving directions to an Embroidery Gallery.  I had never been to it before so I thought I would investigate.  One of the exhibits was this rather marvellous triptych of birds swirling round and diving into the sea, feeding on the fish.  I loved the sense of movement and the blurred boundaries of space – sea or sky?  The artist used paint on cotton and she embroidered some parts to create this vibrant seascape.  And best of all, the idea came to her when she was sheltering from a storm.  Inspiration is all around – come rain or shine!

 

 

Leave a Reply

