Really Good?

img_20161001_1952011

A cup of coffee and a snack was just the thing before going to see the art exhibition, and this cafe was near – just past Green Park Underground station in London.  I was sipping my coffee inside, and had plenty of time to appreciate this rather marvellous sculpture of a Horse and Rider.  I thought ‘That looks like Elizabeth Frink’s style’, and sure enough it was.  And it reminded me of the same titled sculpture I had seen earlier in the year in Winchester:

img_20161001_2006211
Horse and Rider, Winchester, Elizabeth Frink

 

When I was having my coffee I looked up to the top of the many buildings lining Piccadilly, and spied another intriguing sculpture, of a cloaked man holding a pair of scales and a sword, and at his feet a woman looks up to him and a man looks ahead.

img_20161002_1003491

I found out later it is Justice by Hibbert charles Binney and it is on top of the former Norwich Union Building (image from victorianweb.org).

And on my way back from the art exhibition I saw this most curious sculpture

img_20161002_1008151

A gigantic thumbs up, on the Fourth Plinth in Trafalgar Square.  It is called Really Good, by David Shrigley

img_20161002_1010261
Really Good and Nelson’s Column, Trafalgar Square

So what’s really good about it? Ah, that’s the question!  Get’s you thinking!

Have a good day 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

