Late summer delights

We’ve been having a last spurt of summer weather – incredibly hot and wonderful – and so I’ve spent some lovely evenings in the garden.  And I noticed that the ivy growing over the garden fence is a magnet for insects because its flowers are out.  It has also attracted some quite magnificent Red Admiral butterflies.  I saw some at the beginning of the summer on a privet hedge when I was camping, and now in my garden at the end of the summer 🙂
img_20160914_1815451  img_20160914_1810581  

And the lavender plant that has given me so much joy over the summer, has the most lovely scented flower heads, which I picked and will dry for a lovely smell throughout the winter.  It reminded me of a nursery rhyme from my childhood – Lavender’s blue …

Lavender’s blue, dilly, dilly, lavender’s green
When I am king, dilly, dilly, You shall be queen
Who told you so, dilly, dilly, who told you so?
‘Twas my own heart, dilly, dilly, that told me so
Call up your men, dilly, dilly, set them to work
Some to the plough, dilly, dilly, some to the fork
Some to make hay, dilly, dilly, some to cut corn
While you and I, dilly, dilly, keep ourselves warm

img_20160914_1809501

Leave a Reply

