On Forgiveness

IMG_20160829_084039[1]

To the one I was
back then,
you did this,
you didn't do that.
To the one I was
back then
it hurt,
hurt deep,
hurt long.

The stone that was thrown
rippled the lake
wide
and wider.
I didn't know then,
how to stop those waves
washing up pebbles
and sticks and stones.

Now I do.
The one I am now
is different.
I am changed and changing.
I am grown and growing.
I am being transformed
by grace.

That ancient tide mark
lies in a place
far from me.
It touches me no longer.

That is forgiveness.
Our human frailty
transformed;
a butterfly emerging
and flying high.
2 thoughts on “On Forgiveness

Leave a Reply

