Discourse of the Animals: Tortoise

IMG_20160621_194849[1]
Thanks to The Travelling Cat Lady, at leavingfootprints.net for the photo
Slowly
so slowly
you realised
I was here,
at the base
upholding
you all.

My vaulted
carapace
carrying all things,
and legs
buttressing
the weight
to the good earth.

And I am slow…
well,
you think me slow,
better to say,
‘I am’.
That’s it,
this is me.
No hurry,
ever.
Here to remind you
of a different
scale,
aeons.

Let things
unfold.
Watch
and wait.

As old as the mountains
I am as old as the mountains; my shell the lithos that lifted up in heat and pressure.  I am ancient of days.  I am solid, sturdy, carrying all things on my back.  My wrinkles, the lines of immemorial time etched on my skin.  My time is time out of mind; my ways those from the mist before time.  It has been; it will be again.  I know.  I am the root, the unconscious rhizome, the fossil of the past you carry within yourself.

 

 

[See also, My Totem Pole, Discourse of the Animals: The Black Panther, Discourse of the Animals: She-Wolf]

 

4 thoughts on “Discourse of the Animals: Tortoise

Leave a Reply

