A Local Resurrection

IMG_20160301_173042[1]
By the banks
of the river
we came to life
again.

What would we do
now?

"I smell the flower,
fragrant,
perfumed.
I am alive."

"I peep out 
over the walls
and look
and look.
My hair
pulled back
behind me - 
us girls together.
I am alive."

"I fix his collar!
He never pays
attention to it!
A gesture
of our togetherness.
I am alive."

"I stretch
and yawn
and flex
my too-cramped
body;
and the breeze,
fresh,
touches my 
skin.
I am alive."

"I read the note
and pass one
to her next door
- stirring thoughts,
exchanging ideas.
I am alive."

"I look up
to the blue,
blue sky,
see the sun.
They put us
in the unlovely
plot,
dark, as our skin.
Now,
I too am alive
with a smile,
and joy and wonder
in my heart.
I will live
forever."


For Bernie

[Inspired by The Resurrection, Cookham 
by Stanley Spencer, 1924-7
Tate Britain, London

2 thoughts on “A Local Resurrection

Leave a Reply

